Meanwhile, back at home

From my sister:

Mom has changed drastically since last night and now is experiencing more apnea-type episodes. Will be starting liquid morphine soon with Ativan. The aide plans to stay through the night with me, and possibly my son? My daughter is supposed to drive back tonight and is having a very hard time. They are eating now with stepmom and step siblings, who have flown in from Montana for their family beach trip. I’m thankful the kids are getting a small break, and hope that my daughter’s trip goes as well as it can.

. . .

I’ve been administering morphine and Ativan through the night. Mom has basically been asleep all day and night. I did not know if she would make it through tonight but we are now at 5:15 AM and she is resting. My son will come back when he wakes up. The aide will be here around 7-8ish. I will go home and sleep some before returning. I’ve spent the past 30 minutes reading Scriptures to Mom.

My response:

That’s perfect. She will rest well in heaven with a wonderful, beautiful ending with you all.

From my sister at 1:01 pm local time (Botswana):

Mom has been restored to her heavenly image. I stayed the night, and left after her caregiver got here at 6:30. The aide called within 5 minutes of my leaving to let me know she had passed.

My view when I read the text that my mother had died:

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started